the unfortunate sequence 

Under midnight skies

I dream of you

my wide eyes dance 

while your eyes gleam effortlessly

I catch small glimpses through them

perhaps they’re windows

allowing the world

or maybe just me

to see who you really are

not just who you want to be

what you truly feel

not just what you let me see

my hand in yours

we dance in circles

and for once 

we both find peace.

Under midnight skies

I dream of you again

my eyes empty

yours uncomfortably wet

in darkness

you rest your head on my shoulder

I look far away

nothing feels the same

I push you further and further

I’m not the one you need

you’ve lost yourself
but I can’t find you

you drive away too fast

I didn’t mean to hurt you.

Under midnight skies 

I dream of you

some nights we dance

and we’re smiling 

but some nights 

we sit in silence

we’re always holding back 

so sometimes I wonder 

if you dream of me too.

2 thoughts on “the unfortunate sequence 

Leave a Reply

